We do not recommend that you remove recognition posts from the system unless it is absolutely necessary.
Instances that might call for removing a recognition post
Multiple people capture the same event
- If multiple people post recognitions for the same action, you may choose to publish only the first of the stories to prevent overloading the system with duplicate stories. Then remove the other stories from the system. You may want to notify the authors why you are removing the post.
Not an action others can learn from
- If you think the recognition is not one that others could learn from and is not powerful enough to warrant a formal post, you may prefer to speak with the author and recommend a face-to-face thank-you rather than a formal recognition.
Employee no longer works at your company
- In some cases, an employee may no longer work for your company when a recognition is posted for him or her. This is a simple reason to remove it from the system.
Employee on performance review or a poor performer is recognized
- In this case, it is usually better to proceed with the recognition (unless you are a day or two away from terminating the employee), as the author will be aware if the recognition is never published and may question the reasons.
- It is recommended to review the recognition and include in a private comment (or during a conversation) a statement like, “While I am glad to see that your coworkers appreciate how you work on the team, I want to remind you to stay focused on [reminder of what it is they need to be working, e.g., the speed with which you accomplish your work].”
- In the rare event that an employee is having significant enough performance issues that publishing recognition could be problematic, you can remove the recognition post from the system; however, you may want to have a discussion with the author about why you removed the post.
Removing a post
To remove posts from the system click the Remove button at the bottom of the Post Review Form. (The Remove button is visible on each view of the Post Review Form, that is, whether you click Return or Publish or do not make a selection.)
A Remove Post pop-up will appear to confirm the decision. Click Remove to complete the removal.
Once a recognition is removed from the system, it cannot be retrieved so be sure that removal is the correct action to take.