The user file described in the article Creating the User Import CSV File can be used to synchronize users from your internal HR or Payroll system to the Brand Integrity Platform. Most Payroll or HR systems will allow you to not only generate this report but also schedule it to run on a regular basis (typically daily or weekly) so that synchronization is fully automated. Even if automation isn't feasible for your company, you can manually update this file periodically and send it to Brand Integrity to keep your program users up-to-date.
Setting up FTP
Once you create your User CSV File, you will then need to contact Brand Integrity to validate the file and obtain your Secure FTP (File Transfer Protocol) credentials. Secure FTP is the way you will transfer the file to Brand Integrity at regular intervals for processing.
You may need to have your IT department help you setup FTP on your computer. Most HR and Payroll systems also have a way to export reports to an FTP location.
The dedicated IP addresses for FTP are as follows:
How often is the user file export needed?
Once a week is typical, although some clients send Brand Integrity the data once a day. Either way, the system reviews all files each night and processes them if something is new.
What format should the file be in?
The file should be in CSV (Comma Separated Values) format. Refer to the Creating the User Import CSV File article for more information.
How should the file be named?
The filename doesn’t matter as long as it is named the same thing for each upload (e.g., Client_Employee_Data.csv). The platform is set up to look for a new version of the file every day and process it if one shows up. This file will get written over each week when a new file is added.
Should we include terminated employees?
No, do not include terminated employees. When an employee is terminated, his or her information should be removed from the file. That way, when the platform cannot find a match for a given user, it knows to inactivate the user in the platform. If, for whatever reason, the individual is hired back and his/her user information is included in the file at a future date, the old profile will be re-activated.